Mayor and Councillors

Left to right: Dr. Jason Smith (Mayor), Karen Joyce-Paki, Julie Geange, Libby Jones, Peter Wethey (Deputy Mayor), Johnathan Laresn, Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock, Anna Curnow, Absent: Andrew Wade

Register of Members' Interests (20 April 2018)

Dr Jason Smith (Mayor)

Tena koutou nga tangata o te rohe o Kaipara. I am a fifth generation Kaipara local, Dargaville-born and raised in Ruawai, passionate about the place, its environment, and making great futures here.

Read more

Peter Wethey (Deputy Mayor)

Peter Wethey is married and lives permanently at Mangawhai Heads. He and his wife, Jane, together have 5 children and 7 grandchildren.

Read more

Libby Jones

Libby Jones is committed to community well‑being and sound governance. She seeks to be well informed in order to make the best decisions for the whole district.

Read more

Jonathan Larsen

Jonathan Larsen has been involved in Kaipara district all of his life.

Read more

Karen Joyce-Paki

Dargaville and its surrounds has been Karen’s home and community for over 40 years.

Read more

Andrew Wade

Andrew Wade grew up locally. Early in his working career he completed a plumbing apprenticeship and has travelled extensively.

Read more

Anna Curnow

Anna is a mother of two daughters who lives in Ruawai with her dairy farmer partner, Garth Preston.

Read more

Victoria Del La Varis-Woodcock

Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock is a long time Kaipara identity, who has lived in Pouto, at Rotu Valley and for the last 10 years on Avoca Road, in the area between Waihue and Tangowahine Valleys.

Read more

Julie Geange

Julie has lived in the Kaipara District for over 20 years, she has a background in the rural sector and strong business management skills.

Read more