Most enquiries can be answered by checking out our website. Here you can find information on all Kaipara District Council administered cemeteries, the interment process, current fees and charges and more. However, if your query isn’t answered here or you need any assistance, the Council’s Customer Services team and Parks team are available to help. You can phone, email or call into the Council offices to get cemetery information, or you can contact a local funeral director, who will be able to assist you.

Cemeteries are administered and managed under the Kaipara District Council’s Cemeteries and Crematoria Bylaw, Cemeteries and Crematoria Code of Practice, the Burials and Cremation Act 1964 and the Reserves Act 1977. Please refer to our Cemetery Rules and Regulations.

Council Administered Cemeteries

The Kaipara District Council administers and operates six open cemeteries. These are:

Cemetery Location
Old Mt Wesley Cemetery 32 Mt Wesley Coast Road, Mt Wesley, Dargaville
New Mt Wesley Cemetery 118 Mt Wesley Coast Road, Mt Wesley, Dargaville
Dargaville RSA (Mt Wesley) Cemetery  118 Mt Wesley Coast Road, Mt Wesley, Dargaville
Redhill Cemetery 114 Redhill Cemetery Road, Redhill, Dargaville
Arapohue Cemetery 179 Hoyle Road, Arapohue, Dargaville
Tokatoka Cemetery 5360 State Highway 12, Tokatoka

Non-Council Administered Cemeteries

There are many cemeteries throughout Kaipara that are not administered by the Kaipara District Council. These are often run by local community committees, trusts or marae and provide a vital service to our smaller and remote rural communities. If you wish to arrange for a burial or request burial records from these non-Council administered cemeteries, you will need to contact the respective committee, trust or marae directly.

For information about rural cemeteries in the district which are managed by cemetery boards, please contact the appropriate person below. Please Note: The information below is correct to the best of our knowledge. For any corrections or additions please contact Kaipara District Council.

Hakaru Cemetery (St. Michaels), Valley Road
Bevan Lawrence 09 480 1949
Kaihu Cemetery
Sue Patuawa 09 439 1839
Kaiwaka Cemetery
David Wright (Chairman/Sexton) 021 889 370 email: pukepunga@xtra.co.nz 
Mangawhai Cemetery, Garbolino/Tara/Cove Road
Margie Murray (Sexton) 021 620 815 or 09 4314 729 / Natalie Alispahic (Secretary) 022 3080 406 or 09 9717504
Mareretu Cemetery
Lloyd Stubbs 09 431 7017 or 09 431 7354
Matakohe Cemetery
Cherie Tonkin 027 362 1943
Maungaturoro RSA Cemetery
Ross Needham (Welfare Officer) 09 431 8235
Maungaturoto Cemetery
Rev Colleen Binns 027 236 8898 or 09 486 7578
Pahi Cemetery (Very Old) On farm owned by Mary and Owen Stevens, 467 Pahi Road, Paparoa
Mary and Owen Stevens 09 431 7123
Paparoa (Methodist) Cemetery
Aileen Hames (Secretary) 09 431 6795
St Marks Anglican Church Cemetery, Paparoa
Lloyd Stubbs 09 431 7017 or 09 431 7354
Whakapirau Cemetery
Bruce Robertson 09 431 8585