Local Elections 2019

Local Government Elections

Triennial elections for elected members of most local authorities throughout New Zealand are to be conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 12 October 2019. The elections will be conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to Kaipara District Council.

Final election results

The final results for the Kaipara District Council elections held on 12 October 2019 are available below. 

Preliminary election results

The preliminary result for the Kaipara District Council elections held on 12 October 2019 is available below.  

Candidate Information

Voter information

Election Returns

You can find the daily returns of votes below;

Current Nominations

During the nomination period (19 July to 16 August), this section will be updated regularly with the names and contact details of candidates to enable the public and media to contact candidates directly with any questions.



Contact Phone

Contact email


Moemoea Mohoawhenua 

Candidate Statement

021 0865 1727


Jason Smith 

Candidate Statement

021 730 079


Councillor Positions    
Dargaville Ward    

Karen Joyce-Paki 

Candidate Statement

021 439 316


Brian McEwing

Candidate Statement

027 482 0446


Ash Nayyar 

Candidate Statement

021 0885 6851


Marnie Stewart 

Candidate Statement

022 014 2195


Jay Tane 

Candidate Statement


Eryn Wilson-Collins

Candidate Statement



Kaiwaka-Mangawhai Ward    

Jonathan Larsen

  • Elected Unopposed
021 185 8389  


Peter Wethey 

  • Elected Unopposed
Otamatea Ward    

Anna Curnow 

Candidate Statement

021 667 124 


Craig Jepson 

Candidate Statement



Wayne Linton 

Candidate Statement


Ian Miller 

Candidate Statement


Mark Vincent 

Candidate Statement

  021 0829 8037


West Coast - Central Ward    

Victoria del la Varis-Woodcock

Candidate Statement

 027 352 0566


Joesephine Nathan

Candidate Statement

 027 302 9836


David Wills

Candidate Statement

021 533 833 



Independently organised debates may occur across the district in September. If you would like your details included here please email information to website@kaipara.govt.nz

Candidate meeting information (click to see)

The meeting information and dates provided below are organised by community groups. If you would like to add an event here please email details through to website@kaipara.govt.nz.


Date & Time


Event organiser

Wednesday 11 September


 Paparoa Hall

Progressive Paparoa Incorporated

Raylee paparoaflorist@gmail.com


Wednesday 18 September


Maungaturoto Centennial Hall

Terri Donaldson


Thursday 19 September


Mangawhai Golf Club, Molesworth Drive, Mangawhai

Mangawhai Business Association

Richard Gunson - 09 431 4675

Thursday 19 September


Ruawai - Tokatoka War Memorial Hall, Wharf Road, Ruawai

Nicky Reid

021 103 6277 

Friday 20 September


 Dargaville Methodist Church Complex

Kaipara Grey Power

Ken Cashin 09 439 4452


Council owned and managed Social Media -

Key points are as follows:

  • Election advertising, using any media, including social media, must identify the person under whose authority they have been produced, as per sections 113‑115 of the Local Electoral Act 2001. This means in your profile photograph/bio, you must have a statement saying that all content/images on your social media channel are authorised by you or your agent. You must include a physical address in the authorisation statement.
  • The council’s social media accounts are not permitted to be used as a communications channel by anyone (candidates or members of the public) for promotion, electioneering or campaigning.
  • The council’s social media accounts are constantly monitored and any campaign related or electioneering content will be removed immediately.
  • Any social media post – positive or negative – made by any individual specifically relating to their own – or someone else’s – nomination, intention to run for the council, or election campaign, will be removed immediately.
  • Candidates cannot reply to the council’s social media posts or share with a comment encouraging people to like or follow their own social media accounts or any other electioneering tool. Any posts that do this will be removed immediately.
  • Candidates must not link their own social media accounts (if they are used for campaigning purposes) to the council’s social media accounts.
  • Candidates cannot rate, review, check-in or tag the council’s social media channels.
  • The council’s social media accounts will remain neutral. The council will promote elections and the importance of voting but will not associate these posts with any candidates.


Before putting up your Election hoardings or signs, we ask that you please review the Hoardings Policy.

Any hoardings or signs you wish to put up outside of the specified locations in the hoardings policy, you will need to seek permission from the appropriate persons:

  • Locations controlled by NZTA. Please advise NZTA of your locations on info@nzta.govt.nz
  • Locations controlled by KDC. Please advise Jenny King of your locations. jking@kaipara.govt.nz
  • Private locations – at the discretion of the land owner.

We ask that you advise us of the locations to ensure the safety of the public i.e In appropriate positions, not constricting line of sight.  

Electoral roll

Those eligible to vote in the election are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on Friday 16 August 2019. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from Friday 19 July 2019 to Friday 16 August 2019 at the above locations.

Resident Roll: All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live. Any alterations to the Resident Roll (eg change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

  • completing the appropriate form at any post shop;
  • phoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656)
  • accessing the Electoral Commission website on www.elections.org.nz

You can find information about the Non-resident Ratepayer Electoral Roll here

Electoral system

The first single transferable vote electoral system will be used.

Voting period

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 20 September 2019. The voting period is three weeks (Friday 20 September 2019 to noon Saturday 12 October 2019). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document. Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 20 September 2019 to close of business on Friday 11 October 2019 at all Council offices. On Saturday 12 October 2019, the issuing of special voting documents and the receiving of completed voting documents will be available at Council’s Dargaville and Mangawhai offices only. To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by noon Saturday 12 October 2019. Progress results will be known early afternoon, and preliminary results will be updated on this website by 10am Sunday morning, 13 October 2019.

Contact us

For further information regarding this election, please contact the electoral office:
Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer
Kaipara District Council
C/o PO Box 5135, Wellesley Street, Auckland 1141
Email: info@electionservices.co.nz
Phone: 0800 922 822