Engaging with mana whenua

The Resource Management Act (RMA) recognises that Māori have a special cultural and spiritual relationship with the environment and a role in helping safeguard it on behalf of all New Zealanders

When we consider a resource consent application, we need to recognise and provide for the relationship of Māori with their ancestral lands, water, sites, wāhi tapu (sacred areas) and other taonga (treasures). You may need to consider these relationships and values in your application.

Mana whenua of Kaipara

The Kaipara District is steeped in Māori history, being one of the first Districts settled by Māori and also the focus of early European exploration. The District has an extensive range of archaeological sites principally related to early Māori occupation. Numerous pa terraces, pits and middens are present along Kaipara’s coasts, as well as some inland areas.

Many iwi (tribe) and hapū (sub-tribe) have strong links to the Kaipara District area. Te Uri o Hau, Te Roroa, Te Kuihi, Te Parawhau, Ngāti Manuhiri, Ngātiwai, Ngāpuhi and Ngāti Whātua, just name a few with connections to historical events and occupation over time.

Te Uri o Hau is a hapū of the Ngāti Whātua confederation. Descending from Haumoewaarangi through Hakiputatomuri, who is the founding tupuna (ancestor) of Te Uri o Hau.

Te Uri o Hau rohe areas of interest start from the Northern Wairoa vicinity, down to Pouto on the west coast across to Mangawhai along the east coast and extends into the northern parts of Auckland, including the Kaipara Harbour.

Te Roroa uri descend from either tupuna, Manumanu 1 and/or Rangitauwawaro with whakapapa links throughout the north. The Te Roroa rohe stretches along the west coast from the Hokianga to Tokatoka in the Kaipara, encompassing at its heart the Waipoua Forest, Manganui Bluff and the Kai Iwi Lakes.

When to consult with mana whenua

Te Uri o Hau and Te Roroa each have a Deed of Settlement with the Crown (and associated legislation).  The Deeds of Settlement identify areas in which Te Uri o Hau and Te Roroa exercise kaitiakitanga and should be consulted.  This ethic of stewardship extends to activities that affect natural and physical resources such as air and fresh or coastal waters, heritage and archaeology.  kaitiakitanga is recognised throughout the District Plan and is provided for through ‘Areas of Significance to Māori’ which includes areas of Nohoanga, Te Tarehu or Kirihipi, Statutory Acknowledgements, Special Protocols between government agencies and iwi, or Deeds of Recognition that have been registered on the titles of Crown owned land as a result of the Treaty Settlement process. 

Consultation with Maori and recognition of their role as Kaitiaki in the resource consent process where ‘Areas of Significance to Māori’ are affected is important.  In addition, Section 8 of the Resource Management Act 1991 requires all persons acting under the Act (including applicants, Councils and Tangata Whenua) to take into account the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.

Prior consultation with mana whenua, which may include a Cultural Effects Assessment (CIA), must be undertaken before lodging a resource consent for the following activities:

  • All applications on land zoned for Māori Purposes, or located near a marae (https://maorimaps.com/map)
  • All applications on land involving known archaeological sites
  • Mining, quarrying and forestry activities in the Rural Zone
  • Subdivisions within 300m of the coast or in “Areas of Significance to Māori”
  • Earthworks within 300m of the coast of in “Areas of Significance to Māori”
  • Indigenous vegetation clearance
  • All activities within Outstanding Natural Landscapes
  • All activities requiring consent under District Plan Rule 17.10.2 – Earthworks within an “Area of Significance to Māori”, or Rule 17.10.3 – Development on a site listed in Schedule 17.2 “Nohoanga Areas and Areas of Significance to Māori”
  • All activities within or immediately adjacent to the following Nohoanga and Deeds of Recognition sites listed in Schedule 17.2 of the District Plan:
    • Te Uri o Hau
      • Pouto Stewardship Area
      • Lake Whakaneke
      • Lake Mokeno
      • Pukekararo Scenic Reserve
      • Tokatoka Scenic Reserve
      • Te Taa Hinga
      • Kaipara Harbour coastal area
      • Mangawhai Harbour coastal area
    • Te Roroa
      • The parts of Waipoua forest not transferred to iwi

Who to contact

Engagement is most effective if done early in the process, and with an open and honest approach.  Engagement will allow you and the Council to be informed about mana whenua views.  All costs associated with engagement must be met by the applicant and can be discussed with the relevant iwi contact.

Iwi contact

Te Uri o Hau

  • Phone: 0800 438 894
  • Email: RMA@uriohau.co.nz
  • Website: https://www.uriohau.com/
  • Postal Address:
    • Te Tai Tokerau Maori Trust Building
      PO Box 657,
  • Street Address
    • Te Tai Tokerau Maori Trust Building
      3rd Floor, 5 Hunt Street, Whangarei

Read the Cultural Monitoring Protocols for Te Uri o Hau

Te Roroa