Recycling FAQs

Recycling is a private initiative and weekly recycling bag collections are provided in Mangawhai and Baylys and supported by collection points along the State Highways between the two townships.

Other recycling alternatives?

Please note: Little River Transport (Beach Road, Dargaville) is no longer accepting recycling. Recycling can be taken to the Awakino Road Transfer Station during opening hours.


Organisation responsible

What can be deposited


Dargaville – Countdown Carpark


Aluminium cans


Dargaville – Edward Street

Greenways Trust

Aluminium cans and clean tins


Dargaville – Murdoch Street

Fast Food Takeaways

Newspaper – clean large sheets only


Dargaville – Gordon Street

Dargaville Primary School



What types of products can be recycled?

  • Paper
  • Cardboard
  • Glass bottles and jars
  • Aluminium Cans
  • Aerosol cans
  • Tins
  • Plastics Grade 1 (clear only, and no meat trays as those that aren't up to grade can contaminate the plastic quality)
  • Plastics Grade 2 (milk bottles, clear and coloured)
  • Plastics Grade 5

Recycling must be clean and in a yellow recycling bag in order to be collected. Bags cost $1.80 and can be purchased throughout the District from most supermarkets and Council offices.

The nature of recycling is determined by the market and who will buy the waste products. Currently there is a lot of change in these markets, and at times due to oversupply, the transfer station may not take certain products. 

Also at the Dargaville Recycling Centre - 

  • Scrap metal
  • White ware items
  • Green Waste
  • Second Chance Shop

A recycling service for old and unwanted CRT television sets etc is provided at the Dargaville and Hakaru Transfer Stations. It is a user pays scheme and these items are sent to Auckland for recycling.