Rubbish & Recycling

What bags do I use?

Rubbish collection is a user pays system with blue rubbish bags currently costing $3.10...

Read more

Refuse Transfer Stations

Find out where our refuse/recycling transfer stations are in the Kaipara District...

Read more

Dargaville Transfer Station (Awakino Road) hours have changed. For link to new hours click here. Little River Transport (Beach Road, Dargaville) is no longer accepting recycling. Recycling can be taken to the Awakino Road Transfer Station during opening hours.

Refuse Transfer Stations

There are 2 refuse/recycling transfer stations in the Kaipara District run by Council. You can see details in the Transfer Stations page and what they accept. Most recyclables are accepted at a small cost at Council facilities. Visit our recycling section to learn more.

Kerbside rubbish and recycling collection

Kerbside rubbish and recycling collection is available to many Kaipara District residents provided by one privately operated company, Kaipara Refuse.

Kaipara Refuse (Rubbish and Recycling Collection)
Telephone : 09 439 2146
Mon - Fri 9am - 3pm

Do I have to pay? Collections are User Pays; the collection and disposal fee is included in the price of the pre-paid rubbish bags.