Operational Cemeteries

Council administers six cemeteries in the Kaipara area. They are old Mt Wesley, new Mt Wesley, Dargaville (Mt Wesley) RSA, Redhill, Arapohue and Tokatoka.

All other cemeteries are administered by Trustees who are people that live within the area where the cemetery is. They are open to the public seven days a week, 52 weeks a year.

Our cemeteries are maintained to a high standard and we ask for your help to maintain these standards by observing the following requests:

please, no work is to be undertaken in any cemeteries (Including the erection of headstones) without the Cemetery Managers permission
please, no glass - including vases, jars, beer bottles and glass flowers/ornaments. Glass is easily broken causing a health and safety hazard to visitors and staff.
please, no foodstuffs - food encourages rats, rabbits and other vermin .
please, no planting without written permission from the Cemetery Manager.
please, dogs must be under control, and tidied up after. 
please, no vehicles - between dusk and dawn.

Historic Cemeteries

All of the cemeteries Council administers have Historical Significance as they have been going for over a 100 years. None of those cemeteries are currently ‘closed’.

Rural Cemeteries

For information about rural cemeteries in the district which are managed by cemetery boards, please contact the appropriate person below.

Please Note: The information below is correct to the best of our knowledge. For any corrections or additions please contact us.

Hakaru Cemetery, Valley Road

Bevan Lawrence 09 4312313

Kaihu Cemetery

Sue Patuawa 09 439 1839

Kaiwaka Cemetery

Vern Tolhopf 09 431 4017

Matakohe Cemetery

Tina Ball 021 033 5128

Maungaturoro RSA Cemetery

Ross Needham (Welfare Officer) 09 431 8235

Paparoa (Anglican)

Llody Stubbs 09 431 7017 / 09 431 7354

Paparoa (Methodist)

Ella Hames 09 431 7386

Pahi Cemetery (Very Old)

On farm owned by Mary and Owen Stevens

467 Pahi Road Paparoa 09 431 7123

Mangawhai Cemetery (Garbolino/Tara/Cove Road)

Margie Murray 021 620 815 or 09 4314 729 (Sexton)

Natalie Alispahic 022 3080 406 or 09 9717504 (Secretary)

Tinopai Cemetery

Glenda Weber 09 431 7170 or Shona Hamlin 09 431 7221

St Michaels – Hakaru

Bevan Lawrence 09 4312313


Bruce Robertson 09 431 8585

St Marks

Lloyd Stubbs 09 431 7017 or 09 431 7354


Rev Colleen Binns 027 236 8898 or 09 486 7578


Derek Birt 09 431 6950

Hukatere (Weber Bay Road / Hall Road)

Glenda Weber 09 431 7170


There are a large number of Urupa across the Kaipara District. For information about burials or persons located there it is best to contact the local Marae for information.