

FACT SHEET Triennial election

Kaipara District Council
12 OCTOBER 2019

GENERAL

Triennial elections for elected members of most local authorities throughout New Zealand are to be conducted, by postal vote, on Saturday 12 October 2019.

The elections will be conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be undertaken by Election Services, under contract to Kaipara District Council.

POSITIONS

During 2018, Kaipara District Council undertook a representation arrangements review (review of wards, boundaries, number of elected members etc). The final proposal, confirmed by the Local Government Commission requires elections for the following positions:

- Mayor (elected 'at large')
- Councillors (8)
 - Dargaville Ward (2)
 - Kaiwaka-Mangawhai Ward (2)
 - Otamatea Ward (2)
 - West Coast-Central Ward (2)
- Northland Regional Council Members (either 1 member from the Coastal South Constituency, or 1 member from the Kaipara Constituency)
- Northland District Health Board Members (7 members elected 'at large').

NOMINATIONS

Nominations for the above positions will open on **Friday 19 July 2019** and close at **noon** on **Friday 16 August 2019**.

Nomination papers will be available during this period from Council offices at:

- 42 Hokianga Road, Dargaville
- Unit 6, The Hub, 6 Molesworth Drive, Mangawhai
- by accessing www.kaipara.govt.nz;
- by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate **must** be:

- a New Zealand citizen (by birth or naturalisation ceremony);
 and
- enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and

 nominated by two electors whose names appear on the electoral roll within the respective area that a candidate is standing for.

Detailed candidate information handbooks will be available from the electoral office from May 2019.

ELECTORAL ROLL

Those eligible to vote in the election are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes on Friday 16 August 2019. The Preliminary Electoral Roll will be available for public inspection from **Friday 19 July 2019** to **Friday 16 August 2019** at the Dargaville and Mangawhai Council offices.

<u>Resident Roll:</u> All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (eg change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- · completing the appropriate form at any post shop;
- phoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656)
- accessing the Electoral Commission website on www. elections.org.nz

Ratepayer Roll: If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (provided the nominated person resides outside the area). Ratepayer Roll enrolment forms are available at all Council offices, or by phoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822 or on Council's website www.kaipara.govt.nz.

ELECTORAL SYSTEM

The single transferable voting (STV) electoral system will be used for the Council and the Northland District Health Board. For the Northland Regional Council the first past the post (FPP) electoral system will be used.

VOTING PERIOD

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from **Friday 20 September 2019**.



The voting period is three weeks (Friday 20 September 2019 to noon Saturday 12 October 2019). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document.

Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 20 September 2019 to noon on Saturday 12 October 2019 at the Dargaville and Mangawhai Council offices.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by **noon Saturday 12 October 2019.**

Preliminary results will be known early on Sunday morning, 13 October 2019. These will be accessible on Council's website www.kaipara.govt.nz

CONTACT US

For further information regarding this election, please contact the electoral office:



Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer
Kaipara District Council
C/o PO Box 5135, Wellesley Street, Auckland 1141
Email: info@electionservices.co.nz

Phone: 0800 922 822

