

Fact SheetGeneral Election



GENERAL

Triennial elections for elected members of all local authorities throughout New Zealand are scheduled to be conducted, by postal vote, on **Saturday 8 October 2016**.

The election will be conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and will be administered under contract, by Election Services, for the Kaipara District Council.

POSITIONS

Elections will be required for the following positions:

- Mayor (elected 'at large')
- Councillors (8)
 - Dargaville Ward (2)
 - Otamatea Ward (3)
 - West Coast-Central Ward (3)
- Northland Regional Council Members (either 1 member from the Coastal South Constituency or 1 member from the Kaipara Constituency)
- Northland District Health Board Members (7 members elected 'at large')

NOMINATIONS

Nominations for the above positions will open on Friday 15 July 2016 and close at noon on Friday 12 August 2016.

Nomination forms will be available during this period from Council offices at:

- 42 Hokianga Road, Dargaville
- Unit 6, The Hub, 6 Molesworth Drive, Mangawhai
- by accessing www.kaipara.govt.nz
- by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822

To be eligible to stand for election, a candidate must be:

- enrolled as a Parliamentary elector (anywhere in New Zealand); and
- a New Zealand citizen.

Detailed candidate information handbooks will be available from the electoral office (phone 0800 922 822) from May 2016.

ELECTORAL ROLL

Those eligible to vote at the election are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the electoral roll when it closes. The preliminary electoral roll (by ward) will be available for public inspection at Council offices in Dargaville and Mangawhai from Friday 15 July 2016 to Friday 12 August 2016.

<u>Resident Roll</u>. All parliamentary electors, including those on the Māori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (eg change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:

- completing the appropriate form at any post shop;
- telephoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656)
- accessing the Enrolment Services (Electoral Commission) website on www.elections.org.nz

<u>Ratepayer Roll</u>. If a person is on the parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll. A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (providing the nominated person resides outside of the area). Ratepayer Roll Enrolment Forms are available at Council offices at Dargaville and Mangawhai, or by phoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.

ELECTORAL SYSTEM

The single transferable voting (STV) electoral system will be used for all elections except for the Northland Regional Council which will use the first past the post (FPP) electoral system.

VOTING PERIOD

Voting documents will be sent to all eligible electors, by post, from Friday 16 September 2016.

The voting period is three weeks (Friday 16 September 2016 to noon Saturday 8 October 2016). Electors may post their completed voting documents back to the electoral officer using the orange pre-paid envelope sent with their voting document. Polling places for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available from Friday 16 September 2016 to noon Saturday 8 October 2016 at Council offices at Dargaville and Mangawhai.

To be counted, all completed voting documents must be in the hands of the electoral officer or an electoral official by **noon** Saturday 8 October 2016.

Preliminary results will be known later in the evening on **Saturday 8 October 2016**. These will be accessible on Council's website www.kaipara.govt.nz



For further information regarding this election, please contact the electoral office:

// The Electoral Officer, Kaipara District Council

PO Box 5135, Wellesley Street, Auckland 1141

Email: info@electionservices.co.nz

Phone: 0800 922 822