Citizens Awards

Kaipara District Council awarded Citizens Awards annually from 2001 - 2012, based on recognition of the contributions and achievements of outstanding Kaipara citizens. We are now reinstating the annual Citizens Awards to show our commitment to recognising the contribution and achievements of individuals and organisations to the district.

Citizens Awards are awarded in recognition of substantial service, usually of a voluntary nature or beyond normal employment, benefiting Kaipara and its people. The nominees will have generally carried out predominantly voluntary work, but payment for services will not necessarily disqualify receiving an award. Applications will be assessed on their personal leadership, inspiration, sacrifice or devotion to a cause or made a significant contribution to the well‑being of the Kaipara district and its citizens.

The Citizens Awards process will open annually, and advertisements will call for nominations. These nominations may be made by any person or organisation, in the appropriate form. It is not necessary to have the consent of the person or organisation being nominated for the Awards. If the nomination is successful, consent will be obtained from the intended recipient before any announcement is made to the public.

A Citizens Awards Committee, comprised of three Councillors will assess the nominations received. The decisions of the Committee will be reported to Council. Council will then announce the recipients of the annual Citizens Awards. Council can acknowledge as many or as few recipients as it sees fit in each application round.

Council will, at its discretion, host a formal ceremony to acknowledge the recipients.

Nominations for 2020 closed on 31 May 2020.

Nomination forms can be found here.

Read the full Citizens Awards policy.


Previous winners are:


  • Shirley Bridge
  • Alan Flower
  • Marie Parore Larsen


  • Roy Coombes
  • Edith Jones
  • Lola Trail


  • Phyllis Mills
  • Earl Nicholas
  • Peter Jones


  • Maud Christie
  • Harry Baycroft
  • Mary Toia


  • Wyn Bradley
  • Ken Cashin
  • Dorothy Quaife


  • Dorothy Gardner
  • Jean Goldschmidt
  • Louise Pivac


  • Janet Froggatt
  • Des Partington
  • Karen Smales


  • Lindsay Hargreaves
  • David Orford
  • Nicholas Puharich


  • Neil Clements
  • Betty Hawkes
  • Barry and Robyn Searle


  • Chris Biddles
  • Jenny Fenwick
  • Pete McInnes


  • Jean Finlayson
  • Ron Halliday
  • Gordon Murray


  • Lorraine Benfield
  • Ken Chambers
  • Rosemary Jones

 2013-2016 [Commissioners' Term]

  • Neville Collins
  • Jacoba Puharich
  • Vern Stevens
  • Jo Yuretich
  • Sandra Grayson
  • Judy Langmuir
  • Josie Naysmith


  • Colleen Preston
  • Bev Ross
  • Stella Woolnough
  • Valerie Mann
  • Lilian Radish
  • Kevin Fredrich


  • Christine Bygrave
  • Terri Donaldson
  • Bryce and Noelene Gatehouse
  • Norma Ker
  • Haki Wihongi


  • Gordon Finlayson
  • Sally Parkinson
  • Albert (Albie) Paton
  • John Phillis