Rubbish and Recycling

Waste Refuse & Recycling

Rubbish and Recycling

Dargaville Transfer Station (Awakino Road) hours have changed. For link to new hours click here

Please note: Little River Transport (Beach Road, Dargaville) is no longer accepting recycling. Recycling can be taken to the Awakino Road Transfer Station during opening hours.

Refuse Transfer Stations

There are 2 refuse/recycling transfer stations in the Kaipara District run by Council. You can see details in the Transfer Stations page and what they accept. Most recyclables are accepted at a small cost at Council facilities. Visit our recycling section to learn more.


Kerbside rubbish and recycling collection

Kerbside rubbish and recycling collection is available to many Kaipara District residents provided by one privately operated company, Kaipara Refuse.


Kaipara Refuse (Rubbish and Recycling Collection)

Telephone : 09 439 2146

Mon – Fri 9am - 3pm


Do I have to pay? Collections are User Pays; the collection and disposal fee is included in the price of the pre-paid rubbish bags.

What bags do I buy? Waste collectors have different coloured bags. You can buy these from your local supermarket, petrol station or dairy. Contact Council for more details.

When is my collection? There are weekly, kerbside collections of prepaid rubbish bags and recycling bags, see Rubbish Collection section.


Rural prepaid collections: Some rural residents need to leave prepaid bags at approved collection points because the waste collectors do not collect from their road.

Pre-paid rubbish bags can only be left outside your own property or at an approved collection point.

The maximum weight of prepaid bags is 10kg. Rubbish bags should not contain more than 20% recyclables, 20% food waste and no greenwaste.


Waste Management and Minimisation

We are committed to waste management and minimisation.

E-Waste Management

With the switch to digital television the following link offers more information regarding recycling of unwanted or unusable televisions.

Lightbulb Disposal

International Waste Limited offers a Compact Fluorescent Recycling Box to dispose of fluorescent lamps that contain mercury. Click here to follow the link.




Online requests 

Kaipara District Council
0800 727 059 (24 Hours)
Phone: +64 9 439 7059


Office hours: 8 am to 4.30 pm Monday to Friday

Address: 42 Hokianga Road, Dargaville 0310
Address: Unit 6, The Hub, 6 Molesworth Drive, Mangawhai 0505

Mail: Private Bag 1001, Dargaville 0340


  • icon 04
  • icon 03
  • 1485426244 Google Plus Color