By-Election 2018

Election Results (as at 19 February 2018)

Final Result Count Released (as at 19 February 2018)
Final Election Returns Notice (as at 19 February 2018)
Electoral Donations and Expenses

Final results indicate that Jason SMITH has been elected as Mayor of the Kaipara District Council, following a by-election which concluded at midday Saturday.

Results are below:



ROGAN, Bruce


SIMON, Christian


SMITH, Jason


SOOLE, Stephen


TANE, Jay Ben







10 informal votes and 6 blank votes were received.

42.41% or 6,743 of the 15,898 electors had voted by the close of voting.

For more information please contact: the Electoral Office, Kaipara District Council, telephone 0800 922 822.

Kaipara District Council Local By-Election 2018

As a result of an extra-ordinary vacancy, under section 120 of the Local Electoral Act 2001, notice is given that on Saturday 17 February 2018, a by-election will be held under the single transferable voting electoral system by postal vote for Mayor of the Kaipara District Council.

Final Election Returns Notice (as at 19 February 2018)


Final Candidate list (as at Friday 22 December 2017)

Click on each candidates name for their profile statements

SOOLE, Stephen
 + Expenses

McEWING, Brian
 + Expenses

 + Expenses

ROGAN, Bruce
 + Expenses

SIMON, Christian
 + Expenses

SMITH, Jason
 + Expenses

 + Expenses


 + Expenses

Candidate Information Sheet
By-election Fact Sheet

Candidate Questions

From time to time candidates will request information from council staff during the election period. Where this happens we will share these responses with all candidates and also publish them on our website

Q. I want to know the percentage of full time employees compared with contractors and total wages for contractors versus full time staff ? Also what constitutes Employee Benefits ?

  1. The current salary costs reflect 120.4 FTE members of staff , we can not compare to the number of contractors as the use of contractors varies across a range of services and supplies only some of which could be seen as straight replacement for an employed member of staff. Where this occurs is it by definition temporary in nature, such as an acting role whilst recruitment takes place.

Employee benefits include wages and salaries paid to staff, including PAYE, ACC contributions, Superannuation and Fringe Benefit Tax.

Q. Can you please find out for me what the total amount is in the MELA account. Could you also tell me where this total is reflected in the Annual report and Annual plan if it is , I could only find out the total number of grants and the organisations successful on page 80 of the Annual report.

A. The value of the MELA (Mangawhai Endowment Lands Account) is $5.325 million. It can be found in our 2016/2017 Annual Report on page 45 listed as Restricted Reserves. In future reports we intend to add the description of MELA for clarity

Press Releases

Nominations for Mayoral By-Election 22/12/2017
Public Notice of Mayoral Candidates


A number of organisations hold 'Meet the Candidate' events during the campaign. These are not organised by Council. However they provide an opportunity for voters to find out more about individual candidates. 
The list below show shows a set of events (if you would like to add your event to this please email
Monday 15 January 2018 7:00 pm Kaiwaka Sports Complex, 2 Gibbons Road, Kaiwaka Kaiwaka Sports Association
Richard Bull)
Tuesday 16 January 2018 7:00 pm Mangawhai Golf Club, Molesworth Drive, Mangawhai Mangawhai Business Association
(Richard Gunson)
Wednesday 17 January 2018 7:00 pm Maungaturoto Centennial Hall, View Street, Maungaturoto Maungaturoto Residents Association
(Terri Donaldson)
Thursday 18 January 2018 7:00 pm Paparoa Hall, Paparoa Valley Road Progressive Paparoa Inc.
(Graham Taylor)
Tuesday 23 January 2018 6:30 pm Dargaville Club, Victoria Street, Dargaville Dargaville Business Forum
(Jean Johnson)
Wednesday 24 January 2018 7:00 pm The Lighthouse Function Centre, Harding Park, Dargaville Federated Farmers
(John Blackwell)
Thursday 25 January 2018 7:00 pm Ruawai Memorial Hall Social Lounge, Ruawai Ruawai Promotions and Development Group
(Bruce Crompton)
Friday 26 January 2018 1:00 pm The Methodist Complex, Cnr Awakino Road and SH12 Kaipara Greypower
(Ken Cashin)


Those eligible to vote at the election are all resident electors and non-resident ratepayer electors whose names appear on the constituent territorial authority electoral roll when it closes. The preliminary constituent territorial authority electoral rolls will be available for public inspection at Council offices in Dargaville and Mangawhai.

Resident Roll – All Parliamentary electors, including those on the Maori Electoral Roll, are automatically enrolled on the Resident Roll, at the address where they live.

Any alterations to the Resident Roll (e.g. change of address details, including new postal addresses) should be made by:
  • completing the appropriate form at any Post Shop;
  • telephoning 0800 ENROLNOW (0800 367 656); or
  • accessing the Enrolment Services (Electoral Commission) website on

If a person is on the Parliamentary roll in one area and pays rates on a property in another area, this person may be eligible to be enrolled on the non-resident ratepayer roll.  A firm, company, corporation or society paying rates on a property may nominate one of its members or officers as a ratepayer elector (providing the nominated person resides outside of the area). Ratepayer Roll Enrolment Forms are available at respective constituent territorial authority offices, or by telephoning the electoral office on 0800 922 822.


Online requests 

Kaipara District Council
0800 727 059 (24 Hours)
Phone: +64 9 439 7059


Office hours: 8 am to 4.30 pm Monday to Friday

Address: 42 Hokianga Road, Dargaville 0310
Address: Unit 6, The Hub, 6 Molesworth Drive, Mangawhai 0505

Mail: Private Bag 1001, Dargaville 0340


  • icon 04
  • icon 03
  • 1485426244 Google Plus Color