Kaipara District Council (24 Hours) 0800 727 059

Office opening hours: 8.00am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday

Activity Profiles

Activity Profile: Community Activity Section A – Halls and Community Housing Section B - Reserves and Open Space Section C - Community Assistance Section D – Libraries 
Activity Summary: District Leadership – Governance, Community Planning, Corporate Planning This documents describes the external facing corporate services of: Governance, Community Planning and Corporate Planning
Kaipara District Council (KDC) will, in an emergency event, operate an Emergency Operations Centre at the Dargaville Office or other location if necessary. Council ensures that it has on-going capability by conducting training sessions and having relationships with a number of agencies such as the Police and New Zealand Fire Service. A number of volunteers are available through Red Cross, St John Ambulance Service and other organisations to assist in an emergency event.  The Kaipara District Council (KDC) has a number of Community Response Plans in place that assist it in managing a Civil Defence emergency.  The Kaipara District Council (KDC) has a contract in place to manage responses to rural fire events if they occur
Activity Summary: Flood Protection and Control WorksThe Annual Plan 2014/2015 states that Flood Protection and Control Works covers works related to: Flood control schemes  River alignment control  Land drainage. 
Kaipara District Council (KDC)l assesses applications for consents, licences and certificates under various pieces of legislation and associated regulations within specified timeframes. Council monitors compliance of those who have been granted consents etc. and those who are infringing various provisions, including Bylaws. Kaipara District Council (KDC) must provide various reports to various Government departments including the Department of Statistics, the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment, the Ministry for the Environment and the Department of Internal Affairs
Roads and Footpaths
Solid Waste  
Kerbside refuse bag collection in urban areas and at appointed collection sites in rural areas.  Recycling collection in key urban areas.  Two transfer stations for residential and residual waste disposal.  Public litterbins.  Illegally dumped rubbish (often referred to as “fly tipping”).  Abandoned vehicles.  Supporting waste minimisation initiatives
Kaipara District Council (KDC) operates five community stormwater drainage schemes for Dargaville, Baylys, Te Kopuru, Kaiwaka and Mangawhai in order to protect people, dwellings, private property and public areas from flooding by removing stormwater and to discharge stormwater and collect contaminants in a manner that protects the environment and public health. 
Sewerage and the Treatment and Disposal of Sewage
Kaipara District Council (KDC) operates four community Water Supply schemes for Dargaville (including Baylys), Glinks Gully, Ruawai, and Maungaturoto. These schemes are for the purpose of providing these communities with a constant, adequate and sustainable potable water supply. There is also a small scheme in Mangawhai. 
Email Address


facebook twitter google plus SHARE THIS


0800 727 059 or 09 439 3123 

cant find what you looking for