Kaipara District Council (24 Hours) 0800 727 059

Office opening hours: 8.00am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday

Fire season


Kaipara SM BlueBG-487

DoCjpg Page1

Kaipara District Council
Whangarei District Council

Prohibited Fire Season


Pursuant to Section 22(2) of the Forest and Rural Fires Act 1977 the Rural Fire Authorities of Kaipara District Council, Whangarei District Council and the Department of Conservation hereby declare a Prohibited Fire Season to be in force from midnight Tuesday 10 January 2017 until further notice.
The prohibition will remain in force until weather conditions and fire danger indicators warrant its uplifting, and applies to all land in the Kaipara District and Whangarei District except land administered by the Department of Conservation.
Any permits issued for this period are now cancelled.
All fires in the open air are prohibited with the exception of the following fires outside of Department of Conservation areas:
Commercially constructed barbecues, incinerators (complying with NZS 5262, 5435 and 5442), cooking fires such as umu, hangi and spit fires, subject to the following conditions:
They are supervised by a responsible adult at all times.
A pressurised supply of water is at hand.
The fire is extinguished as soon as the task is complete.
A clear area of at least 10 metres is maintained around the fire.
The fire is no larger than 2 x 2 metres.
A warranted fire officer can request that any barbecue, incinerator or other fire be extinguished if considered a danger.
All persons responsible for fires may be held liable for all costs associated with control of that fire.
Kevin Ihaka
Principal Rural Fire Officer
Kaipara and Whangarei District Councils
Sue Reed-Thomas
Principal Rural Fire Officer
Director Conservation Services – Northern North Island Region
(Acting under delegated authority from the Minister of Conservation)



Email Address


facebook twitter google plus SHARE THIS


0800 727 059 or 09 439 3123 

cant find what you looking for